As part of our annual AFA Committee Conference and Strategy Day, elections are held for Committee officeholders. We would like to inform members of significant changes to these.

The AFA Committee of Management congratulates Kylie Sturgess on being elected unopposed as President of the Atheist Foundation of Australia. Kylie has previously served as AFA Vice-President, and is also well-known for her MC role at our 2010 and 2012 Global Atheist Conventions, and her extensive podcasting, radio and educational activities covering atheism, skepticism and freethought. We are fortunate to have Kylie’s energy and expertise in this key role.

Immediate past President Michael Boyd nominated for the position of Vice-President, and was elected unopposed along with Danny Jarman. Michael served two terms as AFA President with great distinction, at a time of significant transition for the AFA. His leadership and team-building skills were invaluable in this, and we are sure that all AFA members will join in thanking him for his efforts. Michael’s determination to continue to contribute to the AFA as Vice-President is most welcome.

At the Annual General Meeting, half of the Committee members retired by rotation. All renominated, and were re-elected unopposed.

In addition, Bahar Mohabattalab nominated to join the Committee, and was elected. We welcome Bahar, as her insight into the Muslim community and determination to assist people leaving that religion will be invaluable.

Long-time AFA member Michael Beecham was also voted onto the Committee to fill a casual vacancy, and will take up the role of Assistant Treasurer.

Please join us in congratulating and welcoming all our new Committee members and officeholders.

By 2